Topography of Sultanpur

                The district is a part of Faizabad Division of Uttar Pradesh and lies between 81.32 and 82.41 degrees east longitude and 25.59 and 26.40 north latitude. It is bounded by  Faizabad district in the north and Pratapgarh in south. In the east its boundary touches Azamgarh, Ambedkar Nagar, Jaunpur and west it touches Barabanki and Raebareli districts.

               The only mineral of importance is kankar found in great abunmdance all along the bed of Gomti. It lies at a depth ranging from a few centimeters to about one meter from the surface, in a stratum of about the same thickness. The kankars are of four types : bichua a first rate road metal, somewhat black in apperance, mathia, lighter and softer variety with which a quantity of clay or earth is always intermixed, patharia, a sandy stony metal, chatan, a hard yellow metal of considerable value. The reefs all along the Gomti also contain fossil formation of yellow color from which excellent lime is obtained. Reh or saline efflorescence is found in usar lands specially in tehsil Amethi. Clay is found in almost in every part of the district. A variety of clay known as multani mitti is found in the village of Dewar in pargana Chanda at a distance of about five kilometer from river Gomti. The village (Dewar) lies on the bank of a rain stream and the earth is found in a layer of about 15 cm thickness at a depth of about a meter. It is used for pottery and dyeing purposes.

               The land of Sultanpur district is generally plane except some regions around the Gomti river which drains almost the whole district. However, the southern part of Sultanpur drains towards Sai river flowing through the Pratapgarh district.

               The climate of  Sultanpur is semi-arid with very hot summer and equally cold winter season. During the summer months i.e.May-June, the maximum temperature goes beyond 44 degrees Celcius and in winter months of Dec.-Jan. it is around 3-4 degrees.

                Geographic area of the district is 4436 sq km. It may be called an agrarian area as agriculture is the main occupation of the people. Sultanpur,  the head quarter of the district is the only town of importance having municipal board. Other town areas are Amethi, Musafirkhana, Dostpur, Kadipur and Koeripur.   There are six tehsils and tewnty two development blocks which form the district. Namely, Sadar (Sultanpur), Kadipur, Musafirkhana, Amethi, Gauriganj and newly formed Lambhua are the tehsils.  There are one municipality and five town areas in the district.