Muhammd Shah, the then Mughal emperor at Delhi, appointed Shri Girdhar Bahadur Nagar as the first Governer of Avadh who was very shortly transfered  and Saadat Khan (1722-1739) became the first nawab of Avadh on Sept.9, 1722 and was given the title of Burhan-ul-Mulk. In 1739 he was succeded by his nephew and son-in-law Safdar Jung (1739-1754) who died   on Oct.5, 1754. His son Shuja-ud-Daulah (1754-1775) succeeded him as the nawab of Avadh. He faught the famous battle of Buxar alongwith Shah Alam II, and Mir Qasim, the nawab of Bangal with British and had to enter into a treaty with them after defeat which he abrogated himself resulting into another battle with British. Asaf-ud-Daulah (1775-1797), his son, succeded Shuja-ud-Daulah on Jan.31, 1775 who passed away on Jan.26,1775. The British interfered then too much  with his government and he further had to sign a treaty with them. The condition had become  worst during that period. Asaf-ud-Daulah died in 1797. Wazir Ali, the son of Asaf-ud-Daulah became nawab of Avadh but was rejected by his uncle Saadat Ali Khan (1798-1814) on the ground of his spurious birth and he himself became the nawab in 1798. He died in July, 1814. Ghazi-ud-Din Haidar (1814-1827), son of Saadat Ali Khan,  was the next nawab of Avadh and got the title of 'king' by  Hastings. He was succeded  by his son Nasir-ud-Din Haidar (1827-1837). The later nawabs, Muhammad Ali Shah (1837-1842) and Amjad Ali Shah (1842-1847) continued the administration of Avadh who were followed by the last nawab of Avadh, Wajid Ali Shah (1847-1856) who was deposed by Lord Dalhousie and Avadh became a part of British territory.