Organisation Chart

Considering the divisions of the state Uttar Pradesh, there are 75 districts, 18 divisions, 822 blocks, 52021 Panchayats and 107452 villages. Uttar Pradesh is the fifth largest state in India in terms of land area. The land area of Uttar Pradesh is 240,928 . A district collector monitors a district. In Uttar Pradesh, he is also known as a District Magistrate or DM. He is an officer from IAS or PCS who gets a promotion as an IAS officer on the basis of tenure in Provincial Civil Services UPPSC.

In addition, there are other officers in the District and Tehsil offices, who execute the work assigned to them by District Magistrate. Hierarchy of revenue officers in district is as follows.

  • District Magistrate.
  • Additional District Magistrates.
  • Sub Division Magistrates.
  • Tehsildars.

A District Magistrate is appointed by the Government of Uttar Pradesh. District Superintendent of Police heads the District Police organization of the state police as per the Police Act of 1861. A Sub division Police officers govern every sub division. The sub division Police is headed by a police officer of the rank of Assistant Superintendent of Police or DSP (Deputy Superintendent of Police).

Developmental activities of government are controlled by Chief Development Officer posted in the district.